Public CCTV in the Scottish Borders

Closed 31 Oct 2019

Opened 16 Sep 2019


Scottish Borders Council currently operates 70 public space CCTV cameras located in the following towns: Duns, Hawick, Galashiels, Kelso, Peebles, Eyemouth, Selkirk and Melrose.

The Council currently meets all ongoing running costs, including energy consumption, telecoms charges, consumable items and annual charges from the contractors who provide maintenance support for each system.

Work undertaken by Council officers in 2018 indicated that the likely cost of replacement, on a like for like basis, while making use of more modern digital technologies, could be in the region of £600,000.  There would be potentially additional costs associated with related civils works and infrastructure in the region of £250,000.  There is currently no budget identified to cover either replacement or ongoining operating costs.

Why We Are Consulting

On 26 June Scottish Borders Council decided that a consultation should take place to ascertain the views of the public and a report be presented to Council in December 2019.

Results from this survey will be included in a report that outlines options and costs associated with renewing or replacing the current public space CCTV provision in the Scottish Borders.


  • All Areas


  • Anyone from any background


  • Community Safety