SBC Local Festival Grant Scheme Review

Closed 20 Sep 2023

Opened 28 Jul 2023


Scottish Borders Council currently provides £85,110.28 to support public protection and insurance costs for 29 local festivals.  The arrangements of the Scheme have been in place since 2005.

In June 2023, SBC’s Executive Committee agreed to undertake a review of Local Festival Grant Scheme with agreed recommendations being fed into the budget setting process for 2024/25.  

A short life Member/Officer Working Group has been established and will meet during August and September 2023 with a view to bringing recommendations back to the Executive Committee in October 2023.

As part of the review process, we would like to consider the financial support and in-kind support that Festival Committees require to host an annual event.

Why your views matter

It is important for the purpose of the review that the members of the Working Group have a clear understanding of what is required to host a festival annually. This information can only come from Festival Committees themselves.

The information that you give us will enable the Working Group to understand the need and agree recommendations for any changes to the current package of funding provided to Festival Committees by SBC.

The timescales for this work are very tight in order for any recommendations from the Working Group to be considered and fed into the budget process for 2024/25. This is the reason why we are asking for responses to be submitted by 13th August.

You can save your response to the survey if you are part way through and wish to return to the survey at another time.


  • Berwickshire - Chirnside
  • Berwickshire - Coldingham
  • Berwickshire - Coldstream
  • Berwickshire - Duns
  • Berwickshire - Eyemouth
  • Berwickshire - Greenlaw
  • Cheviot - Jedburgh
  • Cheviot - Kelso
  • Cheviot - St Boswells
  • Cheviot - Yetholm
  • Eildon - Earlston
  • Eildon - Galashiels
  • Eildon - Lauder
  • Eildon - Melrose & Newstead
  • Eildon - Newtown St Boswells
  • Eildon - Selkirk
  • Eildon - Stow
  • Eildon - Tweedbank
  • Teviot & Liddesdale - Hawick
  • Teviot & Liddesdale - Newcastleton
  • Tweeddale - Innerleithen
  • Tweeddale - Peebles
  • Tweeddale - Walkerburn
  • Tweeddale - West Linton


  • Community group


  • Local Government